World Music  Spanien  Galicien
Mercedes Peon Siha DM4325 CD
4 Copies immediately available. Shipping till 03 March 2020 Price: 17.98 EURO

Detailed information hide

FormatAudio CD
Ordering NumberDM4325
Release date25/06/2007

Press infoshide

More releases of this artishide

    You may be interested in these titles toohide

      Description hide

      Third album of the Galician author/composer/interpret Mercedes Peón, after Isué (2000) and Ajrú (2003), Sihá follow on the way of the creativity and experimentation. With her second release, Mercedes had imposed her sound in Europe, having the honour of the BBC, in particular to be the guest of Charlie Gillet but also touring in all Europe at Sziget festival, regularly giving concerts in France… With her third opus, she’s definitely making the link between tradition and modernity.

      Galicia is geographically the western region of Europe, the “cap Finis terrae” ends a continent but it is also a door opened onto the world and to influences from the Celtic ones (Galicia shares a common culture with Ireland, Brittany, Wales, Scotland,…) to African ones and all the rhythms flowed by the waves and streams or collected by a fisherman’s and travellers people. From this cultural background, a plant has grown strong, full of colours and nuances, the roots well planted in the Galician ground and tradition, opening its petals straight to the sky and the wind of inspiration.

      This flower, named Mercedes Peón offers to the world one of his fruits, Sihá, spiced and refreshing but at the same time fragile and sensitive. Still innovative and original, Mercedes impose her sound as one of the most creative of the world music panorama, digging in the Galician tradition and working these sounds until obtaining a tribal taste, reminding us that this region of the Atlantic is nearer from Africa than we think. Gifted instrumentalist (guitar, electric bagpipe, clarinet, piano, percussions,…)and singer, in her able hands (and voice) the music of Galicia is pushed into the future without compromise:,…).

      Tracklist hide

      CD 1
      • 1.Ben Linda
      • 2.Ingravida
      • 3.Aiche
      • 4.Carencias
      • 5.Amina
      • 6.Igualina que os antigos
      • 7.Parala
      • 8.Intermezzo
      • 9.As as
      • 10.Ajarrate